Key Lime Pie

November 10, 2008 at 9:09 am (Uncategorized) ()

Key Lime Pie

The first key lime pie I ever made was a disaster. I don’t think that I have ever had one before, and really just went by the recipe that I found in my Top Secret Recipes cookbook, and it was not quite what I expected. And then I saw PeaBody’s post on Key Lime pie, and decided that it was worth a second try, and it was. The recipe got rave reviews and was worth it.

I had read in America’s Test Kitchen, that when it comes to key limes and baked goods like key lime pies that it didn’t make a huge taste difference if you used real key limes versus just limes. So the second time I made the pie, I made it with plain old limes (when you have squeezed 30+ key limes by hand for a pie that didn’t turn out your hands will remember the pain).

Anyways, the first time I made key lime pie I forgot to save a piece for Misha’s Aunt, the second time I made key lime pie I made two (well five actually, but four of them were minis). I brought her over her very own baby key lime pie, complete with whipped cream and zest. She loved it, and then teased me that I didn’t work as hard for this one because it wasn’t “real key lime pie”. So she never really got her key lime pie.

So, I planned way ahead and in June wrote down in the calendar to make a key lime pie for her birthday (well, to remember to request that that was the dish that I bring to her birthday dinner). So, in October I asked the family if I could do dessert for her birthday, and last saturday I spent squeezing 1.5 bags of key limes for 2.25 pies. Misha’s Aunt had a little baby (heart-shaped) pie all to herself.

Happy Birthday!!!

Key Lime Pie with Coconut-Pecan Grahm Cracker Crust
PeaBody!

Ingredients

1/2 cup key lime juice, fresh if possible
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup Marscapone cheese, room temperature
1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
1 to 2 teaspoons finely grated lime or key lime
5 egg jokes
whipped cream, for garnish
1 coconut-pecan grahm cracker pie shell (recipe follows)

Directions

  1. Whisk sweetened condesnsed milk with the egg jokes.
  2. Whisk on Marscapone cheese.
  3. Stir in whipping cream and lime juice.
  4. Stir in 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons lime zest.
  5. Pour into a prepared grahm cracker crust and bake at 325 for 15-20 minutes.
  6. Serve with whipped cream and a dash of lime zest, and enjoy!

Coconut-Pecan Grahm Cracker Crust
PeaBody!

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups crushed grahm cracker crumbs
1/3 cup sweetened coconut flakes, toasted
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup pecans, toasted
7-8 Tablespoons melted butter

Directions

  1. Toast coconut flakes and pecans.
  2. In a food processor, blend together grahm cracker crumbs, coconut, sugar, and pecans. Make sure that none of the coconut is visible.
  3. Add about 7 Tablespoons melted butter, pulse a few times. Add more butter if necessary.
  4. Pour contents into a pie pan and press to form a shell.
  5. Bake crust for 10 minutes at 400. Note: Prebaking is not necessary if you are using mini pie pans.

This is the best key lime pie that I have ever had, not that it is that many. Though, FIL asked for all of the leftovers, and had seconds. In my book, that means that dessert was a sucess.

I’m not sure if the key limes versus limes made a huge difference. I made them too far apart to tell.

I am proud of myself for making one of PeaBody’s amazing dishes.

2 Comments

  1. Katie said,

    Oh yum! Not only does it look beautiful but so delicious!!

  2. Alissa said,

    thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

