Brie en Croute

December 10, 2008 at 7:58 am (Uncategorized) (, )

Brie en Croute

mmm… cheese, need I say more? Misha and I love cheese, and brie is one of those cheeses. This is a fun way to do brie differently. I like to keep it simple with apricot jam, but you can add slivered almonds and all sorts of stuff.

Brie en Croute
Various sources.

Ingredients

1 puff pastry
1 large egg, beaten
1 wedge of brie
1/4-1/2 cup apricot preserves
crackers or bread to serve with

Directions

  1. Defrost puff pastry and roll out.
  2. I like to de-rind my brie, but I’m picky like that. So de-rind the brie if you would like.
  3. Place brie in center of puff pastery to see where to put apricot preserves. Note: I normally get my brie from Costco, and it comes in a wedge not a circle.  So I cut the wedge in half so that I can make a rectangle out of it.
  4. Remove brie from puff pastry and spoon apricot preserves  to about the size that the brie will take up.
  5. Place the brie on top of the apricot preserves.
  6. Wrap brie with the puff pastry.
  7. Wrap brie in plastic wrap and freeze for 20 minutes.
  8. Preheat oven to 425.
  9. Remove brie from freezer and plastic wrap.
  10. Place on greased oven-safe dish. Brush brie with the beaten egg.
  11. Bake for 20-25 minutes.
  12. Serve with crackers or bread and enjoy! Note: It comes out of the oven HOT, so let it cool for a bit so that eager husbands don’t burn themselves.

If I plan ahead, this is an easy appetizer that Misha and I love. It goes over well with crowds.

4 Comments

  1. gaga in the kitchen said,

    Yum, that looks like a big crowd pleaser! How long does is stay all melty and gooey? Can you make this ahead of time or does it have to be served fresh?

  2. joelen said,

    First off, brie in any form is delicious…. and secondly, wrapped in buttery puff pastry makes it even better! Delicious!

  3. Alissa said,

    It stays melty and gooey for a while (20-30 minutes). It usually doesn’t last that long in our house. I wouldn’t make it too much before guests arrive, I would pull it out of the oven, let it sit for 5 minutes, then bring it out.

  4. Niki said,

    yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

