Strawberry Pretzel Salad

January 27, 2009 at 7:04 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

This recipe is a new favorite. I discovered it a few years ago, and from what I can tell every family has their own way of making it. I just picked one of the variations and tried it, I love strawberries and it sounded too interesting to not try. Ever since then, it has been requested over and over again. Misha’s work requested it for the work pot-luck, every time he comes home with an empty dish. I just discovered this year that his work divides it into 6 pieces, and the 6 of them eat it! I had thought that the potluck party was a few more people, but little did I know that he and his coworkers eat this entire thing themselves! His coworkers now request it every pot-luck.

Though it is very easy to make, it does take a few hours (not of actual cooking time, but do this, then cool, do that then, refrigerate, then do this and let sit overnight for the jello to set). So it just takes a little bit of planning ahead.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad
various sources, this is one of those recipes where every family has their own variation

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups crushed pretzels
3/4 cup butter, melted
1 cup white sugar, divided
2 8 ounce packages cream cheese
1 8 ounce container frozen whipped topping, thawed (cool whip)
1 6 ounce package strawberry flavored gelatin
2 cups boiling water
1 16 ounce package frozen strawberries

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix together pretzels, 4 1/2 Tablespoons sugar, and melted butter.
  3. Press into the bottom of a 9 x 13 inch casserole dish. Bake for 10 minutes. Note: Be sure to not overbake, the crust will get too hard.
  4. Set aside the pretzel crust to cool completely.
  5. In a medium bowl, beat the sugar and cream cheese until smooth.
  6. Fold in the whipped topping. (I forgot this once, oops! It still turned out yummy though!)
  7. Spread the mixture evenly over the cooled pretzel crust. Refrigerate until set, about 30 minutes.
  8. In a medium bowl, stir together the gelatin mix and boiling water.
  9. Once mixed, mix in the frozen strawberries and stir until thawed.
  10. Spread mixture evenly over the cream cheese mixture. Note: I normally pull out the strawberries and “organize” them on the cream cheese, since they don’t really spread evenly themselves. That and if you can place the strawberries in a quadrant-like format, you can easily slice down the grid, and everyone gets a strawberry! But I’m crazy like that.
  11. Refrigerate until completely chilled, at least a couple hours. Note: I usually let it sit overnight.
  12. Serve and enjoy!

A few quick notes, I only make this the night before. I wouldn’t let it sit any longer than that. Also, after the first slice be sure to finish the rest quickly. Misha likes it a few days later, but I find that the pretzel crust gets a little soggy and messy. Though it usually doesn’t stay around that long. It can also be hard to cut, so if you are taking it to a pot-luck bring a nice sturdy knife to get through the crust. I also like to have people guess what the crust is, I had my Father-in-Law stumped for quite some time! ry, Eas

5 Comments

  1. Kristen said,

    Oh my gosh my mom used to make this when I was a kid but she hasn’t made it in SO many years! I should make it for her to surprise her…thanks for posting this since I never had the recipe!!

  2. Donna said,

    I haven’t seen this in a long time. I had forgotten about it. I will have to make it for my kids!! It looks fantastic..

  3. Kelly said,

    This is one of our family favorite recipes! We love it and I’m always surprised how many people have never heard of it.

  4. joelen said,

    That looks so super good right now…. starred!!

  5. niki said,

    My family makes this too. yum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

