Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

January 28, 2009 at 8:27 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

I found this recipe a few years ago when I was getting desperate for new vegetarian dishes for Lent.  I am so glad that I found this recipe, it is a nice easy dinner, great for leftovers and perfect vegetarian meal for the non-vegetarian.

I always forget how much this really makes every time I make it. As good as they are, by the time we actually finish all of the burritos we’re pretty burrito-ed out. You could easily half or quarter this recipe for a more manageable size. And besides, mashing 6 cups of kidney beans can get quite tiring!

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos
Allrecipes
Makes 12.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
6 cups canned kidney beans, drained
2 cups water
3 tablespoons chili powder
2 teaspoons ground cumin
4 teaspoons prepared mustard
1 pinch cayenne pepper, or to taste
3 tablespoons soy sauce
4 cups cooked and mashed sweet potatoes
12 (10 inch) flour tortillas, warmed
8 ounces shredded Cheddar cheese

Directions

  1. Cook and mash sweet potatoes.
  2. Preheat oven to 350.
  3. Heat oil in a medium skillet. Saute onion and garlic until soft.
  4. Stir in the beans and mash.
  5. Gradually stir in water and heat the mixture until warm. 
  6. Stir in the chili powder, cumin, mustard, cayenne pepper, and soy sauce.
  7. Divide bean mixture and mashed sweet potatoes evenly between the 12 warm flour tortillas.
  8. Top with cheese. Note: I added sour cream and green onion. Just add whatever you normally like to your burrito.
  9. Fold up tortillas burrito style and place on a baking sheet.
  10. Bake for 12 minutes. Note: I generally heat up the burritos as we eat them, I wrap the “extra” tortillas up and heat them up in the oven at a later time a little bit longer.
  11. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Now that Lent is coming up again, I’m sure we will be making these soon!

7 Comments

  1. joelen said,

    I’ve made sweet potato burritos with black beans before and it was surprisingly very good!

  2. niki said,

    I just made a mexican lasagna using sweet potato and black beans instead of meat. Who knew sweet potatoes were a great meat subsitution in mex food?!

  3. Donna said,

    Wow.. I have never made these before. They sound great. I bet the flavors were terrific together..

  4. Katie said,

    I LOOOVE sweet potatoes! This looks sooo good!

  5. niki said,

    ps- I nominated you for the lemonade award! (check out my blog)

  6. Laure said,

    I love what you’ve done with sweet potatoes – I nominated you for the lemonade award, too! Check my blog. :-)

  7. gaga said,

    I’ve never tried this, but it sounds yummy! I love sweet potato.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

