Sweet Potatoes, Take 2

January 28, 2009 at 8:15 am (Uncategorized) (, , )

Sweet Potatoes, Take 2

Just a few more recipes from Thanksgiving. This is actually a picture of the leftovers, and they were just as good as the original, just not as pretty. I love sweet potatoes, and have them year round.

Sweet Potatoes, Take 2
The Pioneer Woman

Ingredients

4 Medium Sweet Potatoes
1 Cup Sugar
1 Cup Milk
2 Eggs
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1 tsp. salt
1 Cup Brown Sugar
1 Cup Pecans, chopped (measure before they are chopped)
1/2 Cup Flour
3/4 stick butter

Directions

  1. Wash 4 medium sweet potatoes and bake them in the oven at 375 until they are fork tender, about 30-35 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 400.
  3. After the sweet potatoes are cooked, slice them open and put the flesh into a large bowl.
  4. Add sugar, milk, eggs, vanilla, and salt. With a potato masher mash them up until mixed but not smooth.
  5. In a separate bowl add brown sugar, chopped pecans, flour, and butter. With a pastry cutter or fork, mash together until combined.
  6. Spread sweet potato mixture into a baking dish, top with the crumb mixture. 
  7. Bake in a 400 oven for 30 minutes.
  8. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Maybe I’m biased because I love sweet potatoes, but these were so good! I don’t know if my family has ever done nuts on top of sweet potatoes at Thanksgiving, but the topping was delish. Another keeper for years to come!

3 Comments

  1. joelen said,

    Mmm – this is similar to how I prepare sweet potatoes. So much better than regular mashed potatoes in my opinion!

  2. niki said,

    i <3 sweet potatoes!

  3. Kate said,

    I top my sweet potatoes with nuts and brown sugar – but I puree them, which doesn’t go over well in my house. I got the recommendation to mash them from SIL’s sister and I’m going to start trying that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

