A Year of Transformation

December 19, 2009 at 2:09 pm (Uncategorized) (, )

Well, given that it has been almost a year since I have updated this blog (its been a crazy year) I thought that it would be nice to look back at what a year it has been.

For us 2009 was a year of change and learning (along with a bit of adventure). Never a dull moment in our house, and the lack of sleep this year is proof enough!

We started off the year with some new (and old) but all amazing friends. A new tradition at New Year’s started of what was to be quite a year for us.

The first big change for Misha and I, we bought a new car. 2008 ended with a bang (literally) so after being thankful that we made it out alive and unharmed (along with our two pups) we were thrown into the world of car shopping. Needless to say the drive up to visit my parents is made much more comfortable and roomy with our new wheels. The girls love their new seats, and now travel in comfort and safety.

Our next big bit of excitement was two of our very good (and amazing) friends got married. Misha was the Man of Honor, and I was also honored to stand by Alex’s side as she and Mike were married. We are so happy for them. It has been amazing to see what was once a new relationship at our wedding blossom into what it is now.


Alex and Mike, 02.04.06 (at our wedding)

I also managed to go on a few business trips this year. I discovered snow in Chaska, Minnesota, cyclic thunderclouds in Indianapolis, Indiana, and writing techniques in Seattle, Washington. I really enjoyed experiencing some new things, but I was more than happy to get back home to Misha.

In August Misha and I went on an amazing road trip to visit two good friends (and their pup)  in Denver, Colorado. We brought our pups along with us and with camera in tow, hit the road. I am so glad that we took the scenic route, we saw some amazing parts of the country that we never even knew existed. Each turn on the trip brought something more amazing and inspiring than the last. We only took 4, 314 pictures (yay for digital). A few of the highlights included Zion National Park, Goblin Valley State Park (Utah), Route 70, Littleton, Colorado (staying with two amazing friends), Red Rocks Amphitheatre, Garden of the Gods, Mount Evans (Highest Paved Road in North America), Colorado National Monument, Arches National Park, Capitol Reef National Park, and Bryce Canyon National Park. It was great to spend time with Ben and Jenny, I am so thankful that we were able to make this trip. We had a wonderful time, as did our pups.


Misha, Mollie, and Abby, Zion National Park


Zion from the Car


Goblin Valley State Park, Utah


Mt. Evans, Colorado


Arches National Park


Bryce Canyon National Park

It seems like just last week that my mom came down for a quick visit in October. We were one of the fortunate few able to attend the California Women’s Conference. This year it expanded to two days, and we were able to participate in a Day of Transformation (the new additional day of the conference) along with the conference. It was a great visit, and a great conference. My mom and I both learned quite a bit, and continue to discuss things from the conference. I continue to share with others what I can, and to use what I learned. Alas, the trip was over much too soon.

For Thanksgiving this year we were fortunate enough not only to visit my parents for an extended vacation, we were able to see some very good friends that we had not seen in too long. Emilie came down to visit us, and we visited Tom, Angela, and Alexander. It has been too long between visits, and we are already remedying that fact and letting less time fly by before we see each other again. Friends are the family that we choose for ourselves. Misha and I are truly blessed with friends that we can consider family.

This year also was the year that many new faces entered the world. The time of Bridal Showers has changed to the tune of Baby Showers. It is so fun watching these little, sleeping, snuggling babies grow into their own personalities. I’ll keep their names anonymous for privacy’s sake, but our utmost congratulations goes out to the new parents, parents again, and the older siblings who welcomed new family into this world.

2009 for us was a year of transformation. Misha and I have been brought closer in the events of this year (if that was even possible). It was the year of our 10-year high school reunion (I always thought that I would never be the person who wasn’t there, but we were out-of-town for both of ours). We have been together 7 years, married almost 4, and look forward to the future while we enjoy where we are at now. We have two healthy pups that keep us on our toes and always know when we’re about to cook. We have reconnected with old friends, made new friends, and continue to grow closer to the relationships that we have. This year certainly did have some humbling and challenging moments, but looking back it really has only made us stronger and helped us to better appreciate what we do have and be thankful for all that has happened. Misha and I are both different people than we were a year ago. Different in a good way, but this year has certainly transformed us.

We look forward to 2010 with our hearts open. Thank you for the blessings of 2009. 2010, ready or not, here we come!

The Grinenko Family

2 Comments

  1. Zilvinas Juraska said,

    Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  2. Alissa said,

    I use one of the free wordpress layouts on wordpress. No worries, hpoe that it helps!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

