Pasta Carbonara

October 19, 2008 at 4:42 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

Pasta Carbonara

I have made Tom Cruise’s Pasta Carbonara before and loved it. On Sunday night Misha was busy studying and I really didn’t feel like going out to go get something to make dinner. I started looking through the pantry and realized that I had everything for Pasta Carbonara. I was thrilled, so I pulled up PW’s recipe and decided that I would surprise DH with an amazing dinner.

Much to my later dismay, after I started my surprise was ruined and dinner was just about a disaster. Right when I was at the point of cooking the pasta… I started putting it in the water. At first it felt a little.. well.. it might have been a bit old but since it was a special type of pasta made out of legumes I thought that this was maybe how it “got old”. I got impatient and dumped the whole box in only to discover a bunch of bugs!

So DH heard the noise downstairs and discovered the mess that I had gotten myself in. He was a sweetheart and ran to the store and got me more pasta. I really didn’t want to wast a whole pound of bacon and onion. I was totally paranoid though that some buggies jumped over from the pasta box into the cooking onion. After much inspection DH and I determined that our onion was safe.

Ends up it was a wonderful dinner. I served it with our yummy garlic bread.

Pasta Carbonara
Adapted from PW Cooks.

Ingredients

1lb linguine pasta Note: I used Barilla plus spaghetti.
4 eggs
1 pound bacon or pancetta
1 1/2 cups Parmesan cheese
8-12 cloves of garlic
1 large onion, chopped
1 cup chicken stock
1 cup white wine (or substitute another cup of stock) Note: I used more chicken stock.
1/4 cup butter
1 handful of parsley
1 Tablespoon black pepper

Directions

  1. Slice up the bacon into 1-inch wide pieces.
  2. Cook the bacon until browned and crisp.
  3. While the bacon is cooking, set a pot of salted water to boil. When it comes to a boil add the pasta and cook until all dente.
  4. When the bacon is done cooking, remove from pan reserving the grease in the pan.
  5. Saute the onions until they are soft and translucent (a couple of minutes).
  6. Add the garlic to the onions. After they are cooked remove from the pan. Discard the grease.
  7. Place the pan back on high heat until it starts to smoke a little. As soon is the pan is hot, pour in the wine (or chicken stock). Whisk until all the little brown bits on the pan have come off.
  8. Add the chicken stock to the pan along with the bacon, onion, and garlic. Let simmer over medium heat.
  9. Crackand scramble eggs into a large bowl.
  10. Add most of the Parmesan cheese to the eggs, along with the parsley and pepper. Mix.
  11. Drain the pasta, and immediately add the pasta to the egg mixture and toss with a fork.
  12. Add the bacon/onion mixture to the pasta.
  13. Add the butter.
  14. Toss it all together well. Serve with parmesan.
  15. Enjoy!

I forget Tom Cruise’s recipe, I’m not sure how different they are. But as usual, PW’s recipe was a hit!

3 Comments

  1. Maryanna said,

    What a sweet DH to go out to the store. Everything sounds great (minus the buggies).

  2. adamswife06 said,

    Adam and I loved this dish! Glad after all the trouble it turned out.

  3. The Home Cook said,

    Yikes! I’m glad you were able to salvage dinner. I can’t imagine finding bugs in a box of pasta…I would have freaked!

Leave a Reply

