Capt’n Crunch Yogurt Chicken

November 13, 2008 at 6:28 am (Uncategorized) (, )

Key Lime Pie

Many many years ago I was at the doctor’s with my Mom and they had some sort of booksale in the lobby. My mom and I stopped by, and discovered a cookbook called Top Secret Recipes. Though I have not been to many of the restaurants or tried the dishes, this cookbook is a fun book that we have found some truly unique recipes. One of the random gems was a chicken coated in Capt’n Crunch. Being that my mom never bought “fun” cereal, this meal was a real treat. Capt’n Crunch and a yummy dinner.

Well, being that it was cooked in oil it was not the healthiest of meals. That didn’t help my craving of it though. So, realizing that I had two cups of yogurt in the fridge that needed using, and the recent Crispy Yogurt Chicken discovery, I decided to step outside my comfort zone and play with the recipe a bit more than I ever have before.

Capt’n Crunch Yogurt Chicken
Adapted from Top Secret Recipes.

Ingredients

4.5 cups Capt’n Crunch Cereal (next time I will add a bit of panko or corn flakes)
2 cups yogurt
1 teaspoon onion powder
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 pounds chicken breast, cut into tenders

Directions

  1. In a large bowl mix yogurt and minced garlic.
  2. Add chicken to yogurt mixture and stir thouroughly until all chicken is coated. Note: I let this sit for a while, but I didn’t have enough time to let it really sit.
  3. Preheat oven to 350.
  4. In a food processer, grind the Capt’n Crunch, onion powder, and pepper.
  5. Dip the chicken pieces, one by one, into the Capt’n Crunch mixture.
  6. Place coated chicken in a cooking dish coated with non-stick spray.
  7. Cover in foil and bake at 350 for 45ish minutes, or until the chicken is done (I forgot the foil). Remove foil during last 15 minutes of cooking time.
  8. Serve with a honey-mustard sauce and enjoy!

Well, This recipe kind of turned out. I forgot the foil, so I think as a result the cotaing melted off more than I would have liked, and it didn’t get as crunchy as it would have had I cooked it in oil. But, when I try it next time I will add a bit of panko or corn flake crumbs to the Capt’n Crunch. I think doing that, and using foil, will really make a difference. It still tasted good, it just didn’t look as pretty or have quite the crunch that it could have.

Either way, we will be trying this recipe again, with a few modifications.

2 Comments

  1. adamswife06 said,

    Sounds yummy!

  2. Kate said,

    It’s funny how many cereals can be used as chicken coating.

Leave a Reply

